City Council

The City of Alamo Heights follows a “Council-Manager” form of government as provided by the City Charter. The City of Alamo Heights is a home-rule municipality, meaning that it operates under a municipal charter that has been adopted or amended as authorized by Article XI, Section 5, of the Texas Constitution. The original Alamo Heights City Charter was adopted in 1954 and then amended November 2007. Pursuant to its provisions and subject only to the limitations imposed by the state constitution and by state law, all powers of the City are vested in the elective City Council, which enacts local legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies, and appoints the highest level city officials. The City Council executes the laws and oversees the government of the city.

The Alamo Heights City Council is comprised of an elected Mayor and five council members, all of who are chosen at large. Terms are for a period of two years with the Mayor and Council Places One and Two being elected in odd years. Places Three, Four and Five are elected in even years.

City Council Members

Bobby Rosenthal


Phone: (210) 882-1511

Fax: (210) 822-8197

Lawson Jessee

Council Member Place 1

Phone: (210) 882-1512

Fax: (210) 822-8197

Karl P. Baker

Council Member Place 2

Phone: (210) 882-1513

Fax: (210) 822-8197

Blake M. Bonner

Council Member Place 3

Phone: (210) 882-1514

Fax: (210) 822-8197

Lynda Billa Burke

Council Member Place 4

Phone: (210) 882-1515

Fax: (210) 822-8197

John Savage

Council Member Place 5

Phone: (210) 882-1516

Fax: (210) 822-8197

City Council Information
Calendar Learn More
Agenda & Minutes Learn More
City Charter Download
Code of Ethics and Conduct Download
Rules of Procedures Governing City Council Meetings Download